Community Forum for EPISD Board of Trustees Candidates

This came in from Xavier Miranda:

We would like to cordially invite you to participate at our Community Forum for EPISD Board of Trustees Candidates on Saturday, February 27, 2021, from 10 AM to 1 PM. The event will be conducted via a Facebook Livestream in consideration of the current COVID situation. 

The following grassroots organizations, unions, and community members will serve as panelists conveying concerns and questions to the candidates, in a manner that will both educate on the impact of decisions made by EPISD trustees and administration, as well as seek commitment from the potential trustees to advocate for the community during decision-making processes:

  • Familias Unidas del Chamizal
  • Border Network for Human Rights
  • Texas State Teachers Association of El Paso–union officials & education personnel
  • TX SBOE Representative Georgina Perez
  • The Black El Paso Roundtable
  • Democratic Socialists of America of El Chuco

Our moderator will be Attorney Veronica Carbajal, former El Paso mayoral candidate.

The following thirteen candidates have confirmed attendance:

*District 1:  

  • Leah Hanany
  • Arturo Dominguez

*District 3: 

  • Joshua Acevedo (incumbent)
  • Leslie Hoard

*District 4:

  • Fainot Pierre
  • Betty A. Haliburton
  • Francis De Santos Whitaker
  • Diane Dye (incumbent) 

*District 5:

  • Stephen Hayes
  • Vanessa Betts
  • Jerome Tilghman
  • Willeta I. Corbett
  • Israel Irrobali

Our forum will be streamed through our FB page, EP Community Forums:, in order to allow for public viewing and streaming. 

One comment

  1. Unable to attend but sorry I do not see any environmental groups on the sponsor list. We need green kids. I’m looking at several environmental programs for grade thru HS. One from Oakland, one from NM and one from Croatia, would you believe. Clean air, water, food and a sustainable economy are more important than who is sharing the locker room with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *